Oh, the tweeting–catching up on twitter and blogging

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Twittervogel_wiki.jpg

Faldrian on Wikimedia

For the last few months I’ve been trying to learn more about social networking and marketing in order to be ready to do some marketing when I upload the little e-book I’ve been working on.  I started off with Twitter.  I’ve had an account about as long as I’ve had a blog, just so people who wanted to could subscribe with Twitter.  I headed over every now and then to see if I could figure out why people like it but after a few minutes my eyes would roll back in my head and I’d give up.

Since I’ve studied up a bit and started using it more I can’t say I’ve fallen in love with it but I have more appreciation than I did before.  Up till now most of my efforts at building readership were entirely blog centered.  Probably not aggressive enough but I’ve found it so slow going it’s hard to justify the time spent relative to results.  Since my main blog is narrow in scope and really not mainstream in interest I haven’t found it that easy to draw people using the means that build mainstream blogs.  And the hours and hours of keeping up with blogs is wearing.

While the tiny posts on Twitter remain mostly not too interesting to me I like that (a) because they come out by the thousands no one expects you to see all their posts and (b) because they’re so short it’s easy to scroll through hundreds of tweets in a very short time.  I can see very quickly whether a link is something I want to check out and which Tweets are of no interest.  I haven’t put in as much attention as I should but I’m finally seeing that an hour spent on Twitter instead of blogging can produce 10 times or more the results in followers.

As I’ve previously mentioned, I’m not very interested in the minutiae of stats so it’s probably taken me longer than it should have to see the advantages.  I have barely tackled Linked In or Google Plus and both seem like they’ll require quite a time investment to develop much of a network.  But I’m at a point of feeling that Twitter is the easiest way to get a lot of networking accomplished .  Whether it translates to sales–especially given that I have no plans to inundate my followers with endless Tweets promoting my work–remains to be seen.

4 thoughts on “Oh, the tweeting–catching up on twitter and blogging

  1. I know what you mean and when you think you got it all down pack the game changes again. So I do my own thing and hope my words reaches the right people. In my thinking it always does reach the right people at the right time.

    Like

  2. It is less about “drawing in readers” as it is going to get them. Try visiting a certain number of blogs a week and commenting, following them. People with similar interest. You are more likely to find buyers for your book on blogs than on twitter. Best of luck! -OM

    Like

Discuss please

