Googling for… the mundane?

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Typical_socks.jpg

By Jsm193 on Wikimedia

The daily prompt today is:  What was the last thing you searched for online? Why were you looking for it? 

Wow, what a place to start — my first time participating in the daily prompt and ta da–the last thing I searched for was socks.  They quit making my favorites about 15 years ago. Well they still make the type but you can only get them in white and I don’t like white socks.  So I’ve been hunting.  Found some 10 years ago at Macy’s that I liked and when I went back to get some more they didn’t carry them. Then I found some on LLBean.  Same thing.  Now Land’s End no longer has the latest kind I found.  Hence the googling.

I’m old enough to remember that you used to be able to go back year after year and find the same products that you’d been using forever.  Now I seem to spend vast amounts of time searching for replacements of favorite things I can no longer find.  That’s when I’m not wandering around the grocery swearing under my breath and wondering why they’ve moved the teas or the health food or the canned tomatoes for the fifth time in the last four years…

So far no luck.  Can’t find any socks I even want to try.  Uh oh, I might have to learn how to darn.  No, I’m not old enough to have automatically learned how to do that.   Actually my 88-year-old mother doesn’t know how either — thank goodness because I don’t like doing crafts.  Not of any sort.  So glad she can’t teach me.  I guess I’ll have to start putting post-its on my feet telling EMT’s if I’m in an accident they can’t take off my shoes.

9 thoughts on “Googling for… the mundane?

  1. For me it’s always favorite grocery items that seem to go out of production. Or have the package so totally changed that I can’t find it when it is right front of me. Or they rearranged the whole store again and now I can’t find anything. Then, once I’ve found everything again, they re-rearrange it.

    Oh heck, who am I kidding, I’d never find anything at all anymore if I didn’t do all my shopping on Amazon.

    Like

  2. Pingback: of narcissism | Anawnimiss

  3. It’s frustrating when you find something you love or need and that it’s no longer made or isn’t as easy to find. It seems for me that it’s the basic things like a style of pants that is comfortable or a kind of honey for your tea. It’s good to see that I’m not alone! Hope you find a steady source of perfect socks! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: A FEW THINGS | hastywords

  5. Pingback: DIY Birthday Party | A mom's blog

  6. From the esoteric to the mundane, from the ridiculous to the sublime, and full disclosure I just finished a Coursera MOOC from NU (Medill Prof. Youngman) “Understanding Media by Understanding Google” so I’m showing it off like a new toy but I believe the relevance is that’s it’s easy to confuse the process with the tool. That’s why they’re called “disruptive technology”, however the ‘more things change, the more they remain the same'(Pardon my French is not good enough to write this beautiful French maxim in its original language) from the oral tradition of a village elder to the town crier to the printing press, telegraph, telephone now internet, when immersed in changing the means it’s easy to forget the end. If you have a hole in your sock are you more disappointed to find out that the village darner moved away or your sox startup failed?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Google and Rescue Operation | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Discuss please

