Microwave Oatcakes with Tweaks

By some now-mysterious means I picked up a post on a blog I don’t follow that described how to make oatcakes really easily in a microwave.  You can see the original post with video and recipe here.  It sounded like a great idea so  I tried it, halving the recipe to make just one serving and was pretty disappointed.  First, 1-2 minutes must be for the most powerful microwaves.  I’ve now made these several times, tweaking each time and adding time each time.  In my 1100 watt microwave it takes five (5) minutes to get it actually cake-like.  Which means in my old 750 watt microwave it would have taken six or seven.

So, the first time it came out more like porridge.  And boy was it bland.  I’ve been kind of amazed each time at how little banana flavor comes through. I started tweaking with some spices to give it flavor and have settled on this:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 egg
  • 1-1/2 tsp flax seeds (I used ground)
  • 3/8 c. unsweetened vanilla almond milk (you can substitute various forms of milk or use water)
  • 1/2 c. rolled oats (you can replace with almond meal)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • dash nutmeg

I put all of it in a small food processor and whir till it’s well mixed.  Then pour into a microwave-safe bowl.  In 1100 watt microwave, cook it on high for 5-6 minutes (depending on how moist or bready you want it to be).

I was convinced from the beginning that this could be good and I’m glad I kept tweaking because now I enjoy it as a change from my usual breakfast fare.

Discuss please

