Food and Creating Reality

Good for you?

For many years I’ve been contemplating the question whether we create reality as to food or whether food dictates our reality — and I’ve blogged about it before.  You could say it’s a bugaboo of mine…

I really believe that our thoughts create/shape reality.  For me that includes food.  My thoughts about food can impact how the food affects me.  Now, I’m aware that we here in the US have an odd relationship with food.  And my deep, underlying beliefs about food are impacted by the zaniness that surrounds me.  So I try to tread a line between obeying some of the “rules” of food that people spout–understanding that what practitioners tell me affects me strongly–and assuming  I can influence how any type of food serves or dis-serves me.

I scratch my head over the many people who say they believe that thoughts create reality but treat food as if it operates by some Universal Law Code (the Galactic Rules of Food?) over which we have no influence.  Americans seem to me to have a more tortured relationship with food than most other countries.

In Europe people love food and generally they’re far more slender and less subject to food-related ailments.  They eat many things that Americans are currently vilifying though they eat them in moderation. They partake with love and appreciation and a deep belief in the positive benefits of eating good food with enjoyment.  I think their attitude has much to do with the different outcome–though moderation helps too :>)

Years ago, when reading the Seth material I was very struck by his comments about people who are serious about health food.  He noted that a big concern about healthy eating generally carries a core belief on the order of:  “food is often bad for you” or “food carries hidden dangers” or “my health is likely to be ruined by food”.  And, of course, since thoughts create reality and core beliefs strongly influence what you create, those beliefs tend to create a life in which you’re heavily impacted by what you eat or more subject to food-related maladies.

That affected me so profoundly that I’ve worked on being more positive about food ever since.  It’s tough, since I’m surrounded by people who are convinced that there’s good food and sinful food and that one misstep in the eating department can lead to terminal illness.  Some long ago teachers used Reiki on every repast to balance their energy with the meal and start with a positive thought.  I do that often. I also wrote an affirmation:  “This, like everything I eat, serves only my greatest good and highest good health.”

Sometimes I feel like a yo-yo about it because every positive step I take toward changing my thoughts about food seems to be countered by negative thoughts flowing my way from friends and the media.  I also struggle to stay mindful enough to remember to perform Reiki or silently repeat my affirmation before each meal.  Over the years I feel like my attitude about what I choose to eat has improved in spite of my lack of consistency.

At the same time I’m careful to follow rules when some practitioner has convinced me I need to avoid something because I’m aware that my thinking has been deeply influenced.  Sometimes it’s easier to capitulate than to change all my thoughts…

What’s your feeling about food and your power to create reality?   Does food have its own rules, over which you’re powerless?  Can you have an impact on how food affects you?

5 thoughts on “Food and Creating Reality

  1. I am dairy and gluten intolerant and can’t handle preservatives or artificial anything so the I eat healthy organic food. As a result, I feel really good most of the time. When I eat, my attitude is that I am creating and maintaining good health and that my health will flourish. I do think that how we think about food affects how we experience it.

    Like

  2. I find what you’re saying very interesting, because when I was thinner, I ate whatever I wanted. I agree with you that our beliefs about food influence their health for us. I was just reading several thinkers from Jon Gabriel to Wayne Dyer and Charles Eisenstein who agree with your points. Any food can be healthy if we believe it so. And something about the savoring of food helps us to eat the best amounts of it.

    Like

Discuss please

