Late joining Summer Under the Stars…

Somehow this blog seems to occasionally get lost in the shuffle.  I’ve been running a project about forgiveness on the Not Just Sassy blog and posting more than usual over there.  Somehow in the midst of kicking that off I missed the first week of Turner Classic Movies’ Summer Under the Stars.

English: Studio publicity photo of James Stewart.

James Stewart. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

That’s a big blow because I look forward every year to checking out all the movies with favorite stars of the past.  SO glad I finally got to it in time for Jimmy Stewart day.  I managed to catch No Time for Comedy with Rosalind Russell, which I’d never seen before  That’s my big aim every August — find movies by my faves that I haven’t seen.  And, I admit, I hit a few long-time loves for the sixth or twelfth time…

Jimmy also had a small part in Wife vs. Secretary, starring three more I love:  Clark Gable, Myrna Loy and Jean Harlow.  It turned out I’d seen it before but I loved every minute all over again.  Even the misunderstanding that should have required a simple explanation…  Handled by that crowd, how it could it miss?

I’m really looking forward to Saturday when I have my DVR set for a series of Myrna Loy and William Powell

Cropped screenshot of Myrna Loy from the trail...

Myrna Loy (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

movies that don’t involve the Thin Man!  Love those two separate or together.  Wow what a pair on screen.  I suspect it will turn out I’ve seen one or more before but I’m hoping to catch one that’s new to me.

Anybody else have a to-see list for Summer Under the Stars?

2 thoughts on “Late joining Summer Under the Stars…

  1. I don’t have a list this year, but I’ll be watching as many of the Powell and Lombard Days as I can 🙂 If you are on Twitter, you might want to check out the live tweetalong I started, #TCMParty…there’s a whole bunch of people who feel the same way we do.

    Like

Discuss please

