Stewart and Powell and … SUT fun

Since I record more than I can watch in a day during Summer Under the Stars I take my time about watching them.  There’s usually a day here and there with nothing I’m interested in; gives me a chance to catch up.  So last night I watched two left over from James Stewart’s day.

The Stratton Story

The Stratton Story (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’d never seen Stratton Story before.  I wouldn’t count it as one of the greats though Jimmy Stewart, June Allyson, Frank Morgan and Agnes Moorehead are always okay by me.  It did spark my interest enough to read a bit more about Monty Stratton.  I’d never heard about him and I love a sports story that inspires.  Which is odd because I don’t like sports.  In real life he didn’t apparently have quite the thorough comeback on one leg portrayed in the movie, but an amazing story!

Come Live with Me, which paired Stewart with Hedy Lamarr, was also new to me.  Not the greatest movie either of them ever

Cropped screenshot of Hedy Lamarr from the fil...

Hedy Lamarr  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

made but I enjoyed it.  Since my parents raised me watching their faves from the thirties and forties, there are some movies I feel I’ve seen too many times.  It’s a bit of a thrill to watch something new to me from that era even if it’s not another Philadelphia Story.

Cover of "Double Harness"

Cover of Double Harness

Over breakfast I caught William Powell and Ann Harding in Double Harness.  Quite enjoyed it.  Until recent summers of SUT Harding was just a faintly familiar name to me, but I’m coming to appreciate her as I see more of her films.

As I write I’m just finishing the first of the many William Powell/Myrna Loy films I picked up today.  Turned out I think I’ve seen it once before.  Double Wedding will never be a favorite; kind of hope I remember the name next time so I don’t pick it up.  I skipped Libeled Lady as I’ve seen it several times in recent years and, to be honest, I don’t love it as much as most buffs.

I so love the sound tracks and the clothes and those tony accents that elocution lessons provided them.  Lovely to be spending a few weeks immersed in the Thirties.  Not that I never pick any movies from later periods, but really the preponderance of my August obsession is spent on my favorite decade in movies.

Discuss please

