Swamped in old movies!

I’m not even trying to pick up as many as I usually do in this summer’s SUT and I can’t seem to keep up.  A couple of Cary Grant’s

Cary Grant

Cover of Cary Grant

are still sitting on my recording list but that’s more because I’ve seen them many times and feel I can wait to savor them later.

It feels like TCM is having more days for less-well-known actors and since my big object the last few years has been to ferret out stars and films I don’t already know, I’ve been trying to catch some.

My latest try was a Lee Tracy.  As soon as I mentioned the name to my 89-year-old father, he said, “Oh yes.  He was a big star for a while.”  I managed not to have heard of him and I didn’t remember him when I saw him even though I’ve seen Dinner at Eight more than once.  I tried out Crashing Hollywood and didn’t make it halfway through.  He seemed good enough but the movie didn’t grab me.

And the descriptions of most of the films they’re showing felt like… not my cup of tea.  When I was younger I relished a “real” look at life that exposed the dark underbelly, etc. but I’ve realized that I now really like comedies, musicals, rom coms and movies that uplift in general and I pretty much don’t want to watch other stuff.

In those old days I loved  Bertolucci’s The Conformist and Bunuel’s Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie (actually lots of his). I was rebellious and an activist and I reveled in books and movies that explored greed and corruption and man’s inhumanity to man.  But that’s not how I view the world any more and I find I want to feel good after a movie.  When I was young feeling good and being moved by a downer movie were disturbingly intertwined but no more.  Looking forward to being transported again by Roman

Roman Holiday

Roman Holiday (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Holiday.

Discuss please

