Tweaking Oatcakes

I posted a recipe for oatcakes a while ago.  I’ve been playing with the recipe again.  Thought I’d share my new version.

First, while I gather that the original oatcakes are more like a really thick hot cereal, I cook them till they actually have a more cakey texture.  If you prefer the original idea, shorten cooking time.  Now I’ve added dates.

 

Banana Date Oatcakes

1 egg

1-1/2 tsp flax seeds (I used ground)

3/8 c. unsweetened vanilla almond milk (you can substitute various forms of milk or use water)

1/2 c. rolled oats (you can replace with almond meal)

1 banana

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp ground ginger

1/8 tsp ground cloves

1/2 tsp dried orange peel

pinch nutmeg

1-2 dates*

Whir it all up in a blender or food processor.  Pour into bowl.

 

Microwave on high for six-and-a-half minutes (times will vary with power of microwave).  You’ll note that I’ve added time to get it less moist and more like a muffin consistency.

Even at six+ minutes this comes out pretty damp on the outside and very moist inside.  So now I take it out of the bowl and stick it in the toaster oven for about three minutes.  It gives it a sort of chewy texture on the outside and it’s still moist and light on the inside.

 

Not only do I like the added nutritional value of the dates, I love the taste the dates and orange peel add.

You’ll also note that I’ve cut the spices back a bit.  Interestingly, a friend who normally likes things more bland than I do complained that it was too bland even with the larger amount of spices.

I decided that I initially expected a strong flavor more like banana bread; once I started tasting this as its own thing, I came to appreciate the flavor without quite so much spice.  Obviously you need to doctor to your own taste.

*I get dates from two different places.  From one they’re pitted and pretty small.  From the other they’re not pitted and much larger.  I use two or three when I have the small ones and one or two when I have the large.

Discuss please

