Share Your World #9

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

32.  Two main reasons:  (1) I really don’t feel my age; wouldn’t go back to painful points of young like high school or stupid points of young like….  anywhere in the twenties?  (2) It was a couple of years after that that problems with my health knocked me off my path.  In some ways I relate more to the place right before life stopped.

Are you left or right handed?

Left handed.

English: President Barack Obama writes at his ...

English: President Barack Obama writes at his desk in the Oval Office 3/3/09. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was just past the era when they tried to make you be right handed instead.  Fortunately an elementary school teacher threatened to make me write with a fountain pen if I didn’t quit turning my hand around (so I’d drag my hand through wet ink).  I’m so grateful that she got me to hold a pen and my hand straight, the way a right handed person would.

Through most of my school years we sat at desks that just had a partial desk to the side.  Most classrooms had at most one left-sided desk so through most of school I wrote with the bottom of my notebook resting on my lap and the top leaning on the desk.  Never have been able to tolerate writing for very long on a piece of paper or notebook sitting flat on a desk.

If you HAD to change your name, what would you change it to?

I kind of did already.  My first name is Nancy.  My parents are from the South-ish (Kentucky) and assumed I’d be called Nancy Leigh — but Leigh was my mother’s choice, she just didn’t like anything she came up with to come after it…  I related more to Leigh and for my 40th birthday I had a name-changing ceremony/party.  Once was enough.

English: Emma Goldman, anarchist activist and ...

English: Emma Goldman, anarchist activist and writer (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But if I had to go into witness protection and they just wouldn’t let me keep any of my names, I think I’d be Emma Goldman.  Partly because I always thought those 19th/early 20th century anarchists were kind of cool.  But mostly because of the mis-quoted remark attributed to her (she did say something longer that means the same thing):  “If I can’t dance I don’t want to be part of your revolution.”  I did name a cat after her.

Where do you hide junk when people come over?

I don’t.  My house is a big ol’ mess, my friends know it and if they don’t want to come to a messy house they don’t have to come over.

One thought on “Share Your World #9

Discuss please

