Share Your World #10

A diya - Indian oil lamp.

A diya – Indian oil lamp. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When you lose electricity in a storm, do you light the candles or turn on the flashlight? How many of each do you own?

I have a combo.  We have two battery-powered lanterns that give us enough light to read by.  We also have a couple of oil lamps that we light and put in strategic spots so we can get around without having to carry the lanterns everywhere and there are candles that we burn in other spots.

We’ve had a few times that ice conditions led to no electricity for 4-9 days so we’ve had plenty of opportunity to figure out what works for us.  With three different sources, we can be caught out of batteries or out of lamp oil and still have a way or two to get some light.

You are given $5,000 and the chance to exchange it for one of two envelopes. One envelope contains $50,000 and one contains $500. Do you make the trade? Why or why not?

I’m pretty conservative about money, not much of a gambler and I have a history of not great luck on such things so I’d keep the $5,000.

What’s your first memory?

Wow, I’m way too old to know for sure if this is the earliest but I have vivid memories of being about 3 or 4, having been given a tricycle to keep at my grandmother’s house here in Lexington (I grew up in Michigan).  I rode around and around in circles on the driveway, absolutely thrilled.

I blocked memories of most of my life before six, so that one has always stood out since it’s one of the only ones I have of being that little.

What do you do if you can’t sleep at night? Do you count sheep, toss and turn, or get up and try to do something?

It depends on the thing causing me not to sleep.  If I’m really really tired and just for some reason can’t sleep, I’ll usually stay in bed and just enjoy having my eyes closed and resting.  If the muscles in my face are yanking around (subject of many posts on the other blog) and driving me crazy I’ll get up and watch TV or read.  On the rare occasions that I can’t sleep because I’m worried about something, I’ll play the yoga nidra meditation–which is done lying down) to take myself into deep relaxation.  [I wrote a post about yoga nidra a while back]

For Share Your World

One thought on “Share Your World #10

Discuss please

