Weekly Small Pleasures #13

Since I’m having a behind sort of week, I’m glad this is a weekly challenge so I can still do the post, a couple of days later than usual…

What was your favorite subject in school?

I always enjoyed history and majored in it in college.  But I think I loved English more.  Not the diagram a sentence, learn how to use adverbs stuff, but English lit.

At Northwestern there were a lot of requirements for an English major that were of no interest to me so I chose history and just settled for taking as many English lit electives as history classes…

“Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the moments that take your breath away” (George Carlin). When have you had such a moment?

I’m easily moved to awe, so there have been many.  The ones that pop to mind right away:

  • When I lived in Evanston, IL, every time I drove down Sheridan Rd. and onto Lake Shore Drive, that view of the city looming far down the road never ceased to take my breath away.  Actually when I visit that’s the way I head out of town (to the Skyway) and it still does.  I couldn’t find a free photo of precisely that but this view from the lake in Lincoln Park is the same basic angle from closer to the Loop
  • There’s a walk I take in my old neighborhood in Marin County where you climb a hill in a county park and suddenly you’re looking at the skyline of San Francisco.  I always have to stop if only for a breath or two to gaze at that view.  It’s turned out to be hazy the only times I’ve bothered to haul a camera along but this gives you the idea
  • The first time we visited Italy our guide took us on a two day visit to Elba.  The second day was gorgeous and sunny, the island stunning and Roberto introduced us to Andrea Bocelli by playing his first album as we drove around, stopping for lunch at a little village place where we ate salad that came from their garden and fish they caught that morning…  One of the most magical days I ever spent

What’s your choice: jigsaw, crossword, or numeric puzzles?

I can’t even understand the instructions for numeric puzzles so that’s never a choice.  When I was a kid we used to do jigsaws and I loved them but I haven’t done them as an adult very often, in part because I’ve rarely had a space to leave one while taking my time to do it.  So crossword puzzles win, I still do them.  Although if they’re hard I cheat…

If you found an obviously abandoned car with $50,000 in the back seat, what would you do?

Make discreet inquiries about the car, see if I could find the owner and figure out whether I should be handing it to the authorities or giving it to the owner.  If I couldn’t find out who it belonged to, I’d thank the Universe for sending me a gift and take it to the Bank.  In under $10,000 increments over time so as not to trigger a federal investigation 🙂

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Yesterday I finally had a cancelled and long-postponed make up cranio sacral appointment which quieted down the crazy muscle thing.  And, while the appointment is week after next she gave me a referral to another practitioner (several modalities) she thinks may be able to solve the riddle of this ongoing problem, so I’m looking forward to that already!

 

See Share Your World

One thought on “Weekly Small Pleasures #13

Discuss please

