Share Your World #23

For your blog do you basically use Mac or Windows applications.  What type of device laptop, desktop,tablet, phone or pad?

I blog on my HP Envy laptop (which I ADORE) and have Windows 8.1… which I’ve adjusted to.  I tried reading blogs on my Transformer tablet for a while but it takes twice as long.  Not sure if the tablet doesn’t like the WordPress app or whether it’s just the fact that the tablet tends to hang up for a few seconds every time you click on something, but I figured out at some point it literally takes me twice the time to read on it.  My phone screen is too small for me to want to read on it — and has similar issues about hanging up briefly every time you click to another page.

I started out on a Mac — back when there was no hard drive and you just kept copying a word processing program onto a new disk…  Spent a number of years surrounded by Mac lovers who swear by them so I had some jobs where I had to use Apples of various sorts but I never got along that well with them.

I rarely have to look at instructions for Windows-based things as I just naturally figure them out where on an Apple I’m constantly searching through help files and trying to figure out the latest–of many– problem that has arisen.  However, the hang-up issue on Android devices has me wondering whether I-Pads and I-Phones might be less frustrating…

If you were to treat yourself to the “finer things” what would you treat yourself to?

It depends on how you’re defining “finer things”.  If you’re talking top level stuff, like longing for designer clothes, owning my own jet, staying at five-star hotels and having a 40 foot yacht, I just don’t long for those things.

Since I love to cook I dream of a big, gourmet kitchen some day that gives me scope to prepare dinner parties with ease.

At the same time, I don’t love having to cook all the time, so I’d love to afford to have a chef come once a week to prepare a meal — preferably enough to have leftovers 🙂

Just Julie’s Flushing MI

While I don’t long for designer stuff, I like well-made clothes with good quality linen, cotton, etc. so I gaze longingly at lots of clothes in Neiman Marcus and Soft Surroundings catalogs and there are a couple of boutiques I visit when we go up to Michigan each year that have the kinds of things I love.  None of it is anything like the cost of designer, but it’s expensive for me.  Some of it I can afford occasionally and more often on sales but I’d love to be able to just get a catalog or wander in the store and buy a few things without worrying about price.

I’d love to be able to afford to travel more if I could also afford to either travel first class or charter a private plane.  All the lines and security hassles and restrictions have gotten to me…

Can you change a car tire?

Ha!  Years ago yes.  When my dad got me my first car in college, he made me help him rotate the tires on his car (final one was all my mine) so I’d know how to do it.  It’s been so many decades, though, since the issue has come up, I doubt I’d remember now.

The 4th question this week is answer this poll about “how you would like to see the question formats for Share Your World”.  Feel free to answer the questions in your post too.

You can go to Share Your World to take the poll.

One thought on “Share Your World #23

Discuss please

