Share Your World #25

What did you or did not like about the first apartment you ever rented?

I loved my first apartment.  My junior year at Northwestern my best bud from New Student week on, a newer friend we made during our sophomore year and I got our first place on Sherman Ave. in Evanston.  It was one of the great older courtyard buildings that abound in that area.

The kitchen was old — probably all original stuff.  And in those days, without the influence of HGTV, we didn’t walk in and look at an old kitchen and announce that it would “HAVE” to be updated or whine about the lack of granite and stainless. We loved the quaintness of it and we made so many great meals there.  The bathroom had the original tile floor and a claw foot tub and we loved that too.

We were hippies and lovers of old places and it was just funky enough to suit us.  Some of our great friends had an apartment down the back stairs from us so there was lots of visiting back and forth.  It was also a pretty easy walk to campus so we were a favorite drop-in spot for friends who lived farther off.

Great times.

What kind of art is your favorite? Why?

It depends in part whether the question is which visual art do I like best or which of the arts in total I like.  If it’s the latter, music.  Don’t have a why.  Loved it from my earliest memory, took lessons, listen to it daily…

As far as a favorite among the visual arts:  Impressionist.  Initially it was because it was the first stuff anyone taught me very much about.  But even as I was introduced to other types, I still loved it best.  I like the kind of dreamy quality of it.  And I’ve always loved the way it changes from blurry when you’re close to clearer as you move away.

One of my favorite things is getting to be in a museum room with Impressionist paintings and few people in it so I can move forward and backward from each painting and watch how it changes without worrying about mowing people down.

How many siblings do you have? What’s your birth order?

0 siblings.  First, middle and last:-)

Complete this sentence:  I’m dreaming of a white …. (and no you can’t use Christmas as your answer)

I don’t actually dream about white anything much.  Never even took an interest in the incessant wedding planning some of my friends used to love.

But, when I was a child, the horse farms around the Bluegrass had white four-board fences.  I remember so many hours of tooling around the country roads with those iconic fences stretching for miles across the hills.

The white is expensive to keep up and over the years many places have switched to black asphalt paint which is not only cheaper but requires a re-do far less often.  Sometimes, though, I dream of those hills covered with white fences.  You can read more about the fences here.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

My California friends have asked me to house sit again next spring — it’s been too long so I’m thrilled.  Right now there’s not much on the schedule after some busy weeks so I’m looking forward to quiet and the chance to spend more time making notes and fleshing out ideas for my new project.

Check out Share Your World to see how others responded.

One thought on “Share Your World #25

Discuss please

