Share Your World #27

Cee’s questions for this week’s Share Your World:

What is your favorite month of the year?

I think there are things to like about every month, but I am affected by weather so my feelings toward one versus another tend to be related to average weather patterns.

Where I lived in the Bay Area, we had pleasant sunny weather from about March through November and I loved it.  I’d say mid-February, when the acacias started to bloom, to sometime in May, when the constant march of amazing spring turned to summer, was my favorite time there.

Here in Kentucky the winters are cold and the summers beastly.  April tends to be a peak time for the wondrous flowering bushes and trees around here, often accompanied by pleasant weather.  And I’ve always loved the Indian summer stretch in October when the trees are full of color and the temperature has dialed back.  Hard to choose between them.  April … October…  they’re both my favorite.

Do you drink coffee at all?

I love coffee.  Started when I was quite little.  On the rare occasions that the coffee cups weren’t whisked away immediately from the table, I’d sidle over to the abandoned coffees and sip any that was left.

In college I became a bit fussier about coffee after friends introduced me to fresh roasted varieties from coffee specialty shops.  I also had a summer session at the Sorbonne and the French cafe creme seduced me into love of really good coffee.

In law school in Seattle during the early years of the coffee craze there — Starbucks was a couple of shops and still owned by the original founders — great coffee was readily available and law school very demanding so I drank way too much, till I started having tachycardia.

I spent a few years moving into decaf, drinking either half and half or all decaf most of the time for something like 10 years.  I’m back to caffeinated but I hold it mainly to one really fine cup a day.  I order coffee from La Coppa, which has the best coffee I’ve found this side of the pond and make it in a stove top espresso maker.

One really great cup to savor and it’s really all I need.  Not interested in being buggy with caffeine any more.  And I’ve realized that after the first cup the next ones never taste quite as good.  So I love to sit and sip that one.  I fix it after I’ve had breakfast so I can enjoy it just for itself and savor every bit.

What was one of your first moneymaking jobs (other than babysitting or newspaper delivery)?

My father organized my first job, the summer after my freshman year in college.  It was midnight to 8 a.m., in the data processing department at Buick headquarters (hard to believe there’s now just a big bare patch of ground where that giant building used to be….).

I was just filing stuff; something about the way they stored data then involved me wandering through the department collecting (disks? reels?  don’t remember) something to do with data and taking it to the file room, which is where I also had a desk.  Then putting them away.

They were very nice and though I can’t remember the figure, at the time, my pay for the summer was very impressive.  Which is how I could afford the summer session at the Sorbonne the next summer.

List:  If you play video/computer games list 5 games you like?

I do play some but not enough to name five I play with any regularity.  I spend too much time on Wizard101.

Mostly I’ve liked word games.  I had one called Bookworm Adventures that I loved but it’s not been updated for windows 8 so can’t use it any more.  Instead I play one called Wordament but don’t like it nearly as well.

Occasionally I play one or more of the solitaire games like Free Cell or Spider but it’s pretty rare — couple times a year.

 

One thought on “Share Your World #27

Discuss please

