Share Your World #34

For Cee’s Share Your World:

Was school easy or difficult for you? How so?

The Rock at Northwestern University with Unive...

The Rock at Northwestern University with University Hall in the background (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Most of the time it was easy in public school.  Till I got to algebra and geometry, everything was easy.  After that everything but math.

My high school didn’t have an honors program or tracks or AP classes and 50% of the students weren’t interested in school or going to college.  Many classes taught down to the level of the disinterested, so I pretty much breezed through aside from my maths struggles.  I was so bored I didn’t want to go to college because I couldn’t imagine school being interesting.

Northwestern was a different story.  I’d never had to work very hard to get good grades and suddenly I was in a tough school, full of valedictorians and perfect SAT scores.  It took a couple of quarters of not-so-stellar grades for me to understand how much harder I’d need to work.

Once I realized, I threw myself into it and reveled in taking classes that challenged me and being in seminars full of brilliant students who introduced new ideas and questioned everything.  I worked incredibly hard but it still seemed like a breeze because I so loved it.

What is your favorite animal?

Horse Racing

Horse Racing (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Domestically, cats would slightly edge out dogs.  Mostly because I’ve had a lot of cats and only one dog.  But I love both.

My mother’s side of the family were “horse people”, which here in the Bluegrass means they were deep into thoroughbreds.  My grandfather bred, trained and raced horses.  My aunt was the first woman turf reporter in the world.  I wasn’t raised here and never spent as much time around horses so I don’t have the knowledge they did but it’s in my blood.  I LOVE horses.

If you had to have your vision corrected would you rather: glasses or contacts?

I started wearing glasses at six and moved to contacts at about 15.  Although I wore contacts for years they were never comfortable.  Every time some doctor tried out a different type that would definitely be comfortable, it wasn’t.

When I went to vision therapy with the amazing (late) Dr. Sirota I had to switch back to glasses.  He’d learned that near-sightedness develops from emotional trauma which causes the muscles behind the eyes to tighten around the optic nerve.  He found his methods worked only with glasses because contacts tend to cause people to tighten the muscles around their eyes.

A big piece of his method involved reducing prescriptions.  He found that most opticians/optometrists over prescribe and that it causes the muscles to tighten even more; this is why people keep needing stronger and stronger prescriptions.

Every time he reduced my prescription, my vision improved and then the current pair of glasses would start causing my face to tighten up and give me headaches.  I’d go back and he’d check me out and reduce the prescription some more.

Since he’s gone, I know anyone I’d go to would give me a too-strong prescription and I’d go back to losing ground, so while I wait for the muscles to finish letting go, I mostly prefer nothing.  Fortunately since I’m near-sighted I can read and write quite easily with no correction and those are the things I spend a lot of time doing.  I go without corrective anything except when I drive.  The glasses I still have are too strong and I can feel everything start to tighten up in 10 minutes so I whip them off as soon as I get where I’m going.

List:  Name at least five television shows (past or present) you enjoyed?

If I gave you a complete list, (a) it would take too long; and (b) you’d realize I watch WAY too much TV 🙂

  1. Friday Night Lights (I still think it’s one of the best ever on broadcast TV)
  2. Gilmore Girls
  3. Brothers and Sisters
  4. Mary Tyler Moore
  5. Chasing Life
  6. Astronaut Wives Cub
  7. The Fosters
  8. All versions of NCIS
  9. Proof
  10. Grey’s Anatomy

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

None of the doctors kept us waiting for 2 hours before even getting in.  This week has very little on the schedule other than normal maintenance so I’m hoping to get some batch cooking done and I look forward to having a freezer full of yummy healthy stuff.

One thought on “Share Your World #34

Discuss please

