Share Your World #35

Cee’s questions for Share Your World this week:

What made you feel good this week?

Nice weather on days it was supposed to storm, especially the ones that were cool and dry enough to open the windows.  Some pretty good progress on the unwinding muscles in my head and for once it didn’t interfere too much with sleep.  CBS Sunday Morning follow-ups on Hurricane Katrina included heartwarming stories of people who’ve done creative and wonderful things to help.

For potlucks or parties do you cook it yourself, buy from a grocery store, or pay for catering?

If I invite people, I cook everything.  I love to nurture people with yummy food — and these days I’ve gotten pretty good at making it both yummy and healthy, which has been something I’ve worked a lot on.  There’s something about the smile on people’s faces when they’ve loved a meal and feel cared for that I adore.

For potlucks I used to make two things to take because here in Kentucky most people bring stuff with wheat and/or dairy products so I could only eat what I brought.  Now I just eat first, go late, take nothing and eat nothing– way easier on me and my budget.

What is your favorite part of the town/city you live in.  And what Country do you live?

Ooh, that’s a tough choice.  There are two aspects of Lexington I love, both relating to my memories of this place as I LOVED it during my childhood summers here (I grew up in Michigan).  The historic part of town, mainly in the heart of the city, I adore.  In part because I always love historic places.  In part because my aunt bought one of the old places when I was 11 so my summers from that point on were spent wandering the area, including my special love, Gratz Park, which dates back to the late 18th century.

The other thing I love is riding out of town and seeing the beautiful rolling hills, the four board fences, and thoroughbreds racing across the fields — especially in spring when you can watch foals bouncing around with their mothers nearby.  My aunt used to pile me in the car and haul me along when she made visits to farms or went out to take photos for some of her articles on horse stuff and I adored tooling around the countryside.

Gratz Park

Mostly Lexington has grown and changed in ways I really don’t like and too much of my time is spent in the ugly new crap.  I forget sometimes why I used to love it here.  But a meander around Gratz Park or a ride out in horse farm country reminds me of those childhood days when the city was so much smaller and more Southern, the people so charming and the whole area so pretty I always felt like I was visiting paradise (ignoring the subdivisions already giving a glimpse of the yuckiness of the future).

Complete this sentence:  My favorite place in the whole world…..

Kind of depends on the day and time or where I happen to be visiting at the moment.  In general for some years now I’d say the beautiful place on the hill where I used to live in Marin County CA and the surrounding neighborhood, especially the park which backed up to the property.

I used to visit Vancouver every year or two and really loved it.  I also adore Nice and much of the surrounding area though I’ve not been able to get back there for years.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

For last week’s gratitude see answer to first question.  This week is my birthday plus some prep for our annual visit to my home town, Flint, MI

One thought on “Share Your World #35

Discuss please

