Share Your World #36

Cee’s Share Your World questions this week:

If you were a pen, what type, style and color would you be?

A Montblanc or Waterman fountain pen.  I’ve always adored writing with a fountain pen.  I’ve had a variety of colors from plain black to brighter shades to crazy patterns and loved them all.  I hate to be boring but black or silver would probably be my first choices.

I’d like to be in the flow of it and the elegant timelessness of it.  And black in a fountain pen seems so classic.  Flowing and classic.  That sounds good for me.  If I have to be a pen…

Image of a modern fountain pen writing in curs...

Image of a modern fountain pen writing in cursive script. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

How many languages do you you speak?

Depends whether we’re talking fluently or just with some ability.  Fluently, English is my only language.

With a fair amount of ability, French; I can handle your average restaurant, hotel, train stuff and basic conversations.  Can understand more than I’m able to speak.  If someone started trying to discuss philosophy or something I’d have to beg for English.

I have a smattering of Italian — mostly just enough to order in a restaurant or ask directions.  One of my dreams is an immersion class in Todi, Umbria, with hopes to be able to converse beyond asking to have the mushrooms held on my pizza please…

Are you a listener or talker?

That’s a tough one.  I’m naturally pretty introverted, so in a group I often just sit and listen.  However, I have some kind of problem/disability about taking information in orally — I miss a lot and what I do take in is often not available to my conscious mind for sometimes hours or days after the conversation. (I shock people pretty often by asking all kinds of questions three days later about something they thought I wasn’t listening to…)  Which makes me not a great listener, although once I became aware of the problem I began trying harder to take more in.

I know some great conversationalists who always ask me a zillion questions and I come away feeling as if I’ve talked way too much.  And with people I’m really comfortable with in a one on one setting I can be a major chatterbox….

Rather Have:  Which would you rather have, 2 million dollars or true love? 

Years ago I’d have said true love without hesitation.  Now that I’ve gotten older and never had a relationship work out, I’m kind of used to life on my own and pretty tired of struggling financially, so now I think I’d take the 2 million.  I have a few places I’d love to give nice donations to and beyond that I’d love to have a paid-for house and a nice investment cushion.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week I took Hay House up on their offer to watch Wayne Dyer’s “The Shift” for free.  I’d seen it before but really think I enjoyed it more the second time.  This week I’m heading off on the annual visit to my home town and quite looking forward to it.

One thought on “Share Your World #36

Discuss please

