Share Your World #49

Cee’s questions this week for Share Your World:

What would be your ideal birthday present, and why?

My favorite is dinner with a good friend — preferably a birthday that stretches several weeks and has lots of dinners with good friends.  These days, when everyone seems so busy, the joy of being able to sit over a good meal and talk deeply with a good friend is a rare and much-to-be-desired treat for me.

What color would you like your bedroom to be?

Pale, pale pink or peach with green (mint green is probably first choice but I’ve seen many combos of pink or peach with various greens that I’ve loved).  My room now is pink and green, in fact, though the painter made the pink on the walls several shades darker than I’d have preferred.

English: Paeonia suffruticosa (pale pink)

English: Paeonia suffruticosa (pale pink) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Would you prefer snowy winters, or not, and why? 

I grew up in Michigan and lived many years in Chicago so I have known some long tough winters.  When I lived in California, I came back to Kentucky for a couple of weeks at Christmas time every year so I often got to see some snow –though there’s no guarantee of snow in December in KY, unlike those northern climes where it’s far more likely than not.  I thought a couple of days of seeing some fresh pretty snow was plenty.  Then I was perfectly happy to get out of it.

100_0599

I also lived in the Pacific Northwest for six years (three in Portland, three in Seattle).  It was during a time when various weather patterns (and the eruption of Mt. St. Helens) caused it to be grey, misty or rainy almost incessantly and I REALLY loathed that.  If you gave me a choice between a winter there and having to go back to winter in Michigan, I’d take the snow any day.  But my ideal is to live someplace relatively sunny and warm but visit some place with snow briefly every winter.

Would you rather go a week without bathing, but be able to change your clothes, or a week without a change of clothes, but be able to bathe?

I’d rather bathe.  To be honest, since I keep pretty odd hours, I got into a habit of pulling on old grubby clothes as soon as I get up so that I am sort of dressed to the eyes of anyone who stops by.  Many days I’m in them all day; I usually wear the same grubby ones for days, changing to fresh clothes each day only after I’ve gotten around to exercise and had a shower or bath.

I love to be personally clean but, while I wouldn’t go out in anything but clean fresh clothes, for hanging around at home working on my laptop, I don’t much care whether I put on clean clothes every day.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful for getting all my Christmas shopping done — including some nice support for the local independent bookstore/gift shop.  I’m really grateful I don’t have to do any more shopping this coming week.

3 thoughts on “Share Your World #49

Discuss please

