Share Your World #50

Cee’s Share Your World prompts for this week:

Favorite thing to photograph? Write? Or Cook?

I’ve drifted away from photography over the years but the two things most likely to cause me to reach for a camera are a great sunset or Salty (the cat) in a funny position.

000_0045

Right now my favorite thing to write is blog posts.  In childhood I churned out short stories at quite a pace but I’ve gotten so I don’t care for short stories; neither reading nor writing…

My favorite things to cook in general are desserts.  I love sweets and I love the way people’s eyes light up when they see a great dessert (like this pie or this mousse).  But I also like eating healthy and I’ve gotten so I keep a greens-filled frittata (like this) and a version of Italy’s ribollita (see here) around most of the time and I’ve made them so often they’re easy now so I enjoy making those.

Did you like swinging as a child? Do you still get excited when you see a swing? 

I still love to swing.  I don’t often get on a swing at a playground, but when my hammock is functioning (sadly not at the moment), I often put a foot down and give a push so I can swing from side to side for a while because I just love to swing.  I hope one day to have one of those great porch swings that hangs from the ceiling (which involves a dream of having one of those big covered porches…)

What has surprised you about blogging?

First and foremost, that I am still finding things to write about after 4+ years

The surprise I also love has been the lovely community.  I haven’t thought much of social media in general (still don’t really get the joy of FB or Twitter…) so, not knowing much about blogging, I kind of expected the same level of inanity and silliness and it has been such a joy to find myself in the midst of deep thinking explorers of life.

List at least five favorite desserts.

Well, I could just say chocolate, chocolate, chocolate, chocolate, chocolate…  But I do like some things that don’t involve chocolate and specifics are more interesting:

  1.  That lime blueberry pie I mentioned above (see here) is quite spectacular though a bit complicated to make.  I’ve actually had people ask me if I’d mind if they lick the plate 🙂  What cook could mind that???  I use a Tyler Florence crust recipe instead of the one called for–substituting spelt for wheat flour–and add more lime zest to the curd.
  2. After modifying Diane Mott Davidson’s recipe for Chocolate Coma Cookies to replace wheat flour with spelt flour and get rid of the dried fruit (generally don’t like any kind of dried fruit in any kind of cookie), it’s my all time fave chocolate chip cookie recipe.
  3. Chocolate lava cake.  Whether I make it or have it at a restaurant or buy Trader Joe’s, I’ve never met a chocolate lava cake I didn’t love.
  4. Mixed berry soup.  This is a recipe from Giada DeLaurentiis that I’ve made many times.  A fruity delight to serve over vanilla frozen something (in my case something without dairy).  It’s easy, delicious and not only do I adore it but it’s been a major crowd-pleaser.
  5. My current fave, since I’m aiming for healthier desserts, is my tweaked version of cashew nut pudding.  I’ve never come up with a description for the taste other than “not what I’d expect from the name” but it’s easy to make, yummy and very satisfying, and sweetened only with dates and a small quantity of agave syrup.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

After being turned down many times by his regular insurance company in a quest for oxygen to help his emphysema, the VA came through for my 90-6ear-old father, did a better test, and showed up with oxygen tanks two days later.  I don’t really look forward to Christmas any more but I’d say I’ll be grateful when it’s over…

 

2 thoughts on “Share Your World #50

Discuss please

