Share Your World #1 2016

The first Share Your World from Cee:

As a child, who was your favorite relative?

Hands down, my grandmother.  Only had the one.  My mother’s father and both my dad’s parents died when they were children.  She was born in Columbia, TN in 1885 and she never stopped fighting the Civil War, about which she must have heard endless stories from Sherman’s march through the area; ever outraged over Yankees slashing through portraits and breaking fine china (for the longest time I had the most seriously skewed ideas about what the Civil War was about…).  Every time I did something she didn’t like she’d glower at my parents and tell them, “That’s what you get for raising her up there with those DAMN Yankees!”

"Ruins in Richmond" Damage to Richmo...

“Ruins in Richmond” Damage to Richmond, Virginia from the American Civil War. Albumen print. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

She was one of the best, funniest storytellers ever.  At my aunt’s fancy horse people parties (major Derby event being one), streams of people would head up the stairs to my grandmother’s rooms to be regaled with tales that would have them laughing till tears rolled down their cheeks.  I used to pray she’d live to be 125.

My second favorites would be my dad’s much-older brother, Melvin, and his wife Dorothy, two of the most kind and loving people ever.

If you could be a tree or plant, what would you be?

Can’t decide between rosemary, lavender and basil.  I LOVE their scents and the flavors they add to food — so I could bring joy to two senses!

Various species of lavender. Seen at Sault, France

Various species of lavender. Seen at Sault, France (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What would be your preference, awake before dawn or awake before noon?

Since I’m a night owl, I’m often up until not long before dawn and if I got up before noon I’d be sleep deprived, so neither.  But when the muscle stuff is resolved and I can sleep on a regular schedule, I’d like to get to sleep at a time that would let me be up before noon.

Would you like to sleep in a human size nest in a tree or be snuggled in a burrowed spot underground?

Please, please don’t make me do either.  I don’t much like heights nor do I like to be underground or in small spaces.  If I had to choose one, at gun point for instance, I guess I’d pick the tree since apparently I’m only averse to one aspect of that instead of two…

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Some more unwinding in the muscles in my face has led me to a new layer of wondrous thoughts of “Wow, a face can feel like this?”  This week is kind of busy but next week doesn’t have much on the schedule and I’m always grateful for that.

4 thoughts on “Share Your World #1 2016

    • Thanks Linda!. It’s one of the things I enjoy about this little, just-for-me blog — free range telling of stories about family and stuff… Glad you enjoy the humor… I’m sure some of it came from Grandma, though my dad is pretty funny. But I only aspire to the heights of hilarious storytelling she achieved. It’s a bit of an old-fashioned southern thing I think — I used to know a lot of folks of her era and my parents’ from KY and TN who were and are great storytellers. Don’t meet so many any more.

      Liked by 1 person

Discuss please

