Share Your World #15

Cee’s Share Your World questions for this week:

Name one thing not many people know about you.

upright

Georgette Heyer (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been a big fan of Georgette Heyer‘s novels since I was about 15.  I have a huge collection, most of them with copyrights/print editions in the 60’s and 70’s and I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve read my favorites.  Had to buy a new copy of The Grand Sophy because I read and re-read the original till it fell apart…

 

If a distant uncle dies and you were always his favorite and leaves you $50,000 (any currency) in his will, what would you do?

After checking to see whether that would cause any tax liabilities (pretty sure it’s way below the amount where inheritance tax kicks in) I’d then use it to fund my plans for a new blog/web site for info on my movement stuff, including manual with pictures and DVD.

Where do you hide junk when people come over?

This house is too messy to be able to hide it all.  If I have a dinner party or out of town guests (neither of which happens very often) I’ll do a big sort and clean that involves filling the recycling bin, hauling bags to Good Will and lots of trash but not really hiding stuff.  By and large my attitude is you either like me or you don’t…  if you don’t like the way my house looks keep it to yourself or find a neater friend…

Complete this sentence:  I want to learn more about …

After I got the degree in law, which was my third, I felt pretty much done with learning.  Not that I haven’t learned stuff, but I rarely seek out learning that involves classes, etc..  However, I’ve always longed to speak French more fluently and after traveling in Italy I wished for more than the smattering of conversational Italian I learned in one class, so I have immersion schools picked out which I’d love to attend some day.

I am, however, an avid learner about inner life, spirit, compassion, lovingkindness, etc.  That’s a path I’ve been on for many years and though I do occasionally read topical books, I only attend classes that involve learning practices or doing experiential things.  No more class notes and studying for me.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

In spite of unseasonably cold –and also wet — weather I managed some nice walks last week

This week I’m looking forward to a body work appointment wherein my regular therapist will be joined by a second person who’s technique could apparently release the last piece keeping the muscles in my face from letting go.

 

Discuss please

