Share Your World #16

Tulips close up 2016

Cee’s Share Your World for this week:

If you had to have your vision corrected would you rather: glasses or contacts?  Or what do you use if you need to have your vision corrected?

I started with glasses at age 6.  Somewhere around 15 I switched to contacts.  Wore them for decades, but never had a pair that was comfortable — even though I saw a number of eye doctors who supposedly specialized in finding the right contacts for “sensitive” eyes — and never could wear them for more than 12 hours a day.  If that was their specialty I’d hate to think how bad they were at other stuff…

A vision therapist took me off contacts because they tense up your eyes and thereby make nearsightedness worse so it was back to glasses.  The next vision therapist (I moved or I’d have stayed with the first one till he died a few years ago) had a different theory so it was back to uncomfortable contacts.

With the first guy I gained a lot of ground and the second one helped with some side issues although the contacts led to losing some ground.  Since the muscles behind my eyes have been unwinding my vision keeps making small improvements.  Can’t afford to change prescriptions every few months and since I see fine with no prescription for the reading and writing on which I spend most of my time, I don’t wear anything except to drive.  Then I pull out an old pair of glasses that give me a headache but make me legal…

As the last throes of unwinding in the muscles continue, my sight is getting really good so I may not need a correction soon.

If you had to describe your day as a traffic sign, what would it be?

For the last 30 years, coping with fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue, not just my day but every day has felt like a giant SLOW sign, or maybe STOP.  Lately, though, if there were a sign for cautious accelerating toward the fast lane, I think that would be the sign for me.

Was school easy or difficult for you? How so?

Super easy in public school.  I’m pretty smart and was naturally good at it as well as um… shall we say encouraged (pushed?  commanded?) by my parents to do well  and I lived in an area where a high percentage of kids were not college bound nor interested in school, so I didn’t have to work too hard to be in the upper realm of my class.

When I got to Northwestern and found myself in really hard classes and competing against top students from all over, it came as a shock that I had to work my butt off to get the grades I was used to.   I had to learn how to be seriously academic to a degree I’d never been before.  Once I caught on, I totally loved being finally challenged to be more and do more academically.

Would you rather take a 1 or 2 week vacation with an organized tour or take a cruise of your choice?

Kind of depends.  I’ve been on a couple of quite small group (8 people) tours that I found pretty pleasant but they cost.  The one large bus tour I took is something I wouldn’t care to repeat.  Same thing with cruise.  If I could afford to take one of the smaller, more expensive lines, I’d enjoy a cruise but I didn’t love a trip on a big cruise ship.  The cruising was nice enough and I certainly enjoyed the stops, but mostly it was too many people all the time.

When I’ve been the planner and leader of self-guided trips, I’ve found it pretty wearing to have it all on my shoulders so I kind of like a small tour sometimes.  But one whiny or obnoxious person or a schedule that leaves not enough time in some places and too much in others can make that pretty tiresome too — and the second part is also true of cruises — can be tiresome as well.

One of my favorite trips ever was a tour with only 8 of us wherein we had a hotel room on the island of Ischia for the whole time.  There were a couple of over nights in other places but we could leave stuff on Ischia and just take a few things.  Nice not having to move around all the time.

Actually sometimes I think I’d rather stay home 🙂

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I’m grateful for an amazing healing session and many lovely warm days.  Grabbed the tulip shot at the top one afternoon when I sat on the sun porch reading and looked up to realize the light was perfect to photograph the tulips (hard moment to find in that part of the yard…).  Looking forward to heading to Marin County to house/cat sit for nearly three weeks, during which time I’ll be seeing very dear friends as well as drinking in the beauty.

One thought on “Share Your World #16

Discuss please

