Share Your World #21

Cee’s Share Your World this week:

What is your favorite go to beverage?  Water, coffee, tea, coke, soda (non-alcoholic)

A cup of Espresso and coffee beans.

A cup of Espresso and coffee beans. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Interesting one.  For me there’s a difference between my favorite and my go to.  My favorite is coffee.  I only have one cup a day but I make it the best cup I can, using a really good blend (Mill Valley Blend, from La Coppa) and a stove top espresso maker.

My go-to drink, on the other hand, is water with a slice each of lemon and lime.  I have a 20 oz. Contigo water tumbler with lid and straw (unbreakable and largely unspillable — both very important for a drink that’s going to hang around with me all day 🙂 ).  I keep it filled with cold water, flavored slightly with the lemon and lime and usually drink at last 40 oz, aiming for closer to 64.

Can you change a car tire?

English: A flat automobile tire. Français : Un...

A flat automobile tire. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I doubt it. Years ago, when my dad got me my first car he made me spend an afternoon with him rotating the tires on his car.  With each successive tire I did more of it until I did the final one alone.

I’ve been fortunate, though, I’ve only had flat tires at spots where I could literally roll to a nearby service place so I’ve never actually had to change one again (the Universe has been VERY kind to me on that one!).  40+ years later I don’t think I remember all the steps though I might be able to manage if I had to.

Are you a listener or talker?

Depends on the circumstances.  One on one I’d say I tend to talk too much, although I can listen quite well if someone needs to talk about something.

In groups I tend to mostly sit and listen.  When lots of people are talking I find it hard to jump in.  Since I’ve been studying Right Speech, I also find that if I ask myself how much my comment would contribute, generally it isn’t necessary to add my bit.  If I feel something I have to say is important to the conversation, I will speak up.

I hope one day to better develop the excellent Right Listening skills my friend Sybil uses.  Those include asking questions in which you don’t insert your own opinion but instead invite the speaker to keep delving deeper into their own feelings and thoughts.  I have to be really mindfully focused to do it well but she does it naturally all the time.

Would you rather have no internet or no cell phone?

Oh, no cell phone hands down.  I use it so little I’d barely notice.  The main reason my latest one is with me more and used more than others I’ve had is I have apps on it that I use in certain circumstances.

As far as phone calls, my friends all know that if they want to talk to me they need to call on my land line and for the most part I don’t even give out the cell number.  The only time I use it much for calls is on trips.

Not only am I indifferent to cell phones personally, I find it irritating both that other people waste so much of their lives on them and waste so much of my time making me listen to their utterly inane conversations…  everywhere… all the time.  Let’s not even get into what I think of using them while driving.

On the other hand, I’m on the internet often hours a day and as I experienced on my recent visit to Marin where I spent several days with no internet, I rely on it probably too much.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I’m grateful for a week with no technology snafus.  The upcoming week doesn’t have too much scheduled, which I appreciate and I’ll be preparing to go on another short vacation, this time to my home town the following week.

4 thoughts on “Share Your World #21

  1. I am so with you on the cellphone situation. I do not even text, accept when contractually obligated or to surprise someone on occasion. I rather do my internet stuff on a big screen. I do like the camera feature though, very convenient. Blogging on a phone, what???

    I am also told I talk too much, hehe. Does commenting count?

    Namaste, Linda

    Like

Discuss please

