Share Your World #38

Cee’s Share Your World for this week:

Are you a hugger or a non-hugger? 

Kind of a mix.  It doesn’t come naturally to me (although I think it did when I was little).  But hanging around with spiritual seekers seems to involve a lot of hugging so I’ve readjusted.  And I like hugging my good friends.

What is your least favorite Candy?

I really don’t like licorice.  But I’m pretty fussy about candy and how I take my empty calories, so if it doesn’t involve really good dark chocolate, I mostly don’t eat candy.

What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you hear the word “fun”?

That I think I may have lost track of how to have it.  I mostly enjoy pretty quiet pursuits like reading and watching TV — enjoy but don’t exactly think of them as “fun”.

The one activity I dearly love is getting together with one or two good friends, sharing a good meal and having a long and deep conversation.

I can also get pretty excited about attending a workshop with a Rinpoche or some other great spiritual teacher or going to an event that will involve a meditation or some kind of spiritual ceremony.

List of Favorite Smells: What smells do you love? Whether it’s vanilla scented candles or the smell of coffee in the morning or the smell of a fresh spring rain…make a list of all the things you love for a little aromatherapy.

Image by Mark Prince, CoffeeGeek.com, 2006, ri...

Image by Mark Prince, CoffeeGeek.com, 2006, rights released for wikipedia. Image can also be found at http://www.flickr.com/photos/coffeegeek/113110988/ (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Lots of cooking scents:  coffee brewing, bacon cooking, spicy baked goods baking, chocolate baking, turkey roasting…

I’m a big perfume fan so the list is long.  My current two faves are Butterfly (Hanae Mori) and one called “L” that’s available only through Soft Surroundings.

I also love the scents I get on my fingers when I run them through lavender, sage, thyme, rosemary, basil, etc.

Clary Sage

Clary Sage (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

And I work a bit with aromatherapy.  A friend designed a mix for me as part of her finals at aromatherapy school and I wear it most of the time (somewhere underneath clothes if I also want to wear perfume).  It’s an odd mix of lemon, peppermint, clary sage and vetiver but I’ve grown to quite like it as well as appreciating its benefits.

Recently I’ve also created a mix of rose and frankincense, after reading about their cancer prevention/curing benefits.  It’s a little sweeter than scents I generally favor but some days I enjoy inhaling the lovely fragrance of rose.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful for lots of lovely weather and fresh air last week.  We’re getting ready to leave for our annual (and possibly last) annual trek to Michigan.  We’ve had to cancel and change plans a number of times due to Mom’s health issues but things finally seem plateaued.  And most of her old friends (the “grown ups” of my childhood) up there are still getting around so some nice visits will be on the roster.  When GM tanked the economy of Flint most people my age left, but I’ll see the one friend who’s still there — and whose mother is one of Mom’s great friends.

One thought on “Share Your World #38

Discuss please

