Share Your World #39

Cee’s Share Your World for this week:

A class you wish you would have taken?

Well, I have three degrees (BA, MA, JD) and partially completed a PhD, so my general feeling is I’ve taken way too many classes already…

What’s your favorite comic figure and why

Snoopy as "the World War I flying ace&quo...

Snoopy as “the World War I flying ace”, flying his Sopwith Camel. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve never really been a fan of comics.  The only one I ever read with even vague consistency was Peanuts and toss-up whether I liked Charlie Brown or Snoopy better.  It’s been so long since I read any of the strips I’m not sure I know why, except Charlie was so touching and Snoopy was so funny.

Name something you wish you could like.

I wish I could like the traveling part of travel more than I do.  But really, I like the being there part and I pretty much loathe the traveling.  I’m reaching the point I seriously wonder if I’d prefer to just stay home.

Tell me about your first crush / first date / first kiss.

I had a crush most of the way through high school on the same boy but he was never interested in me.  My first date was when I got to college, a fellow a couple of years ahead of me in school.  He decided on the first date that I was too innocent and he didn’t want to be the person to take that away.  So we hung out a lot but as friends.  To be honest, I don’t remember the first ever kiss, not the who, not the circumstance…  Clearly not kissed by someone who mattered to me.

Who was your best friend when you were 10?

When I was 10 there were 3 girls from my neighborhood I played with all the time.  One lived next door, one in the house behind mine and the other across the street from the one next door.  They were pretty much equal to me.  With the exception of my college roommate (sophomore through graduation) I’ve never been much of a “best friend” person though at most times of my life I’ve had a number of close friends I really loved.

What sign are you? Do you believe in astrology?

Virgo Symbol

Virgo Symbol (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m a Virgo.  I DO believe there’s something to astrology but I’ve never been very interested in it.  Amazed when I run into someone who’s really good at reading and analyzing, and then I really enjoy the experience.  Still, I don’t read about it or seek it out much.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

My mother and I had a lovely visit this last week in my home town of Flint, MI.  She’s so frail at this point I’m not sure we’ll get there again so kind of bittersweet.  This week I’m looking forward to being quiet after lots of running around.

4 thoughts on “Share Your World #39

  1. I’m with you on the travelling — love being there. Do not relish the travel part.

    I wish I’d taken more degrees! And have thought long and hard about a PhD — lol — I’m not old enough yet to go back to school. 🙂

    My mother is also frail — she couldn’t make my daughter’s wedding in September — it is sad to watch them decline, especially when their minds are still as sharp as ever.

    Like

    • Maybe we can work on a nose twitching, beam me up mode of transport 🙂
      Yes, both my parents are 91 with bodies failing and minds working great. Very hard to watch. So sorry to hear your mother couldn’t make your daughter’s wedding.

      Like

  2. Sorry to hear about your mom’s frailty and hope you both enjoyed Flint. Was being back there difficult with all the media coverage and the terrible politics that created the lead in the water?

    Also sorry you are not drawn to astrology. But hey, I am fascinated by many of the topics you wirte about. BTW, you are still invited to participate in my annual blogging challenge, regardless 🙂

    Like

    • You’re one of the ones who’s impressive about astrology and interesting too. Plus you have lots of interesting topics.
      Well, I checked about the lead and knew ahead of time that the township, where we stay, the small towns where we spend most of our time, and the commercial business all use the water that comes from Detroit, so only Flint residential places affected.
      Also, nobody seems to mention it, but i’ve watched Flint go from a big thriving town to a pitiful shell of itself after GM pulled Buick’s headquarters and factories out of town in the eighties. My sense is the leaders were doing the best they could when the town had pretty much lost its revenue base…
      I saw your challenge and once I’ve had a day or two to settle back in I’ll think about a post.

      Liked by 3 people

Discuss please

