Share Your World 3/27/17

Cee’s Share Your World this week:

Does your first or middle name have any significance (or were you named after another family member)?

Leigh actually IS my middle name.  The original was Nancy Leigh.  My Mom is from Kentucky, where they at least used to use two names (less true, I notice, as it becomes more midwestern than southern).  She liked Leigh but didn’t like the usual middle names that go after so she put Nancy in front.  And yes, I grew up being called Nancy Leigh by my family and there are relatives who still call me that [it comes out a bit more like Nance uh Layeeeee 🙂 ]

Now that I’ve pondered this question, though, I’m thinking about how her father’s middle name was Burnside, after his mother’s maiden name, and my mother’s middle name is also Burnside.  Off and on I contemplate formally changing my name to get rid of the Nancy, which I never liked and Leigh Burnside doesn’t sound bad.  I’m gonna have to ask her why she didn’t do that.   SO maybe a change one day…  or possibly throwing my mother’s maiden name in the middle instead of my great grandmother’s???

Music or silence while working?

I really like music going.  When I teach yoga/movement I always have soft, contemplative music playing.  When I write it’s anything from the same stuff I use for yoga — particularly if I’m trying to reach deep — to Spotify playlists of 70’s music or jazz.

If you had a special place for your three most special possessions (not including photos, electronics, people or animals), what would they be?

Well, maybe not fair to call him a possession but if animals were allowed, Salty would be number one and he kind of owns the whole house — so we can just put him there and let him continue ruling.  After that electronics would have been on my list if allowed if only because they’re expensive and I can’t afford to replace the pieces I finally have that I love.

Photos, if allowed, would also be high on the list of items I treasure, especially old family photos.  In fact, a bunch of them right now are in some special safe place I can’t remember.  Been trying to scan photos onto computer and upload to FB and Ancestry and a bunch of my favorites are nestled in some safe haven I can’t find.   I’m way better off with clutter 🙂

Since the question doesn’t allow most of the things I treasure, I guess one would be a family ring that my grandmother had made for Mom’s 16th birthday, putting two diamonds from a ring of my grandfather’s with my mother’s birthstone, sapphire.  It’s my birthstone too so at 16 she gave it to me.  I’m not really a bling girl so I don’t enjoy wearing diamonds but I love the history.

I also have a sort of alter/wall shelf full of sacred objects like a statue of Buddha I bought in Bali, a prayer stick I made, a yarn “painting” I made, other statues I love and crystals dear friends have given me.  Next to it is a good-sized statue of the “spirit of water and rain”, from some temple in the far east that I picked up years ago at a Cost Plus (now World Market I think???).  I love being able to glance at my little sacred collection, take a breath and remember divine connection.

The Never List: What are things you know you never will do?

  • bungee jumping
  • cliff climbing
  • sky diving
  • game hunting
  • long trek in deep wilderness
  • climb a mountain
  • run a marathon
  • fly a plane (unless, of course, I’m in one of those situations where the super hero has been knocked out and the pilot is dead and air traffic control is telling me I have to bring the plane in or we’re all dead — then maybe…)

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful for getting some good progress done last week on updating one of my kindle books. and I look forward to finishing and getting the new improved version up this week.

Save

Save

One thought on “Share Your World 3/27/17

Discuss please

