Spiced Granola

I put off trying to make granola for a long time.  I wanted to do it but kept finding recipes that didn’t feel right.  Plus…  lazy ….  Finally I landed on this recipe, which felt like the proportions suited my taste; I also really like it because it gives a basic formula and then you can play around with different versions from there:

  • 4 cups oatmeal
  • 1-1/2 cups raw seeds/nuts – I use 1 cup nuts, 1/2 cup seeds
  • 1/2-1 tsp salt (to taste)
  • 1/2 cup oil-preferably coconut, but as you wish
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2/3 cup dried fruit

I wanted something more spiced than the recipe she provided, so I’ve kept fiddling until I got it to a level of spices I like.

Spiced Granola

  • 4 cups oatmeal
  • 1 cup raw cashews (or other nut of choice)
  • 1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds (or other seed of choice)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2/3 cup dried cranberries (or other fruit of choice)

 

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix dried ingredients, oats through cloves, together in large bowl.  Make sure you toss the spices through it pretty well.

Separately mix together wet ingredients, oil through vanilla.  If your house is cool enough that coconut oil has solidified, melt in microwave first (takes about 30 seconds to a minute on low-ish heat).

Pour wet ingredients over dry ingredients.  Mix well — it takes a while and a lot of stirring to get everything well coated and to avoid winding up with a bunch of liquid left on the bottom.

Spread parchment paper over a large cookie sheet and spread the mixture on the sheet.  Bake for 11-12 minutes.  Take out, stir and, if you wish for clumps, flatten with a wooden spoon or a spatula.  Return to oven for 11-12 more minutes.

Remove and cool.  When cooled, toss in the dried fruit.

I keep it in an airtight plastic storage container and it lasts quite well for the month or so it takes me to use this much granola.

4 thoughts on “Spiced Granola

  1. Pingback: Cee’s Share Your World 10/30/17 | Scribblings from the Bluegrass

  2. Hmm, interesting. I had no idea granola was cooked (you can tell how much I don’t cook from that comment) but it seems like I have most of the ingredients and it sure couldn’t be that difficult to put them together!

    Like

    • I didn’t really either, though I wasn’t surprised when I realized cooking was part of it… And yes, it’s SO easy and quick, even with my up and down health I manage to keep it around at all times. Hope you wind up enjoying it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Share Your World 5/8/17 | Scribblings from the Bluegrass

Discuss please

