Share Your World 7/10/17

Cee’s Share Your World for this week:

How do you like to spend a rainy day?

Inside.  I’m learning to enjoy sitting on our sun porch looking at the greyness and listening to the tapping sound but it’s taken a long time since my years in the Pacific Northwest led me to loathe the rain…  I was there during a particularly wet bunch of years, hitting the year when a long drought broke, then Mt St. Helen blew up and created rain cycles and then there was a long el nino/la nina deal.  Rain, rain, rain.

The years when I was out there it rained or was grey and/or misty something like 28 days a month from September until right after the 4th of July.  When I worked at Lewis and Clark Law School, I remember one of the students who was about to graduate coming into my office and I asked him if he was staying in Portland.  He looked at me like I was insane and said with mingled disgust and disdain, “No.  I’m going back to California, where I won’t have mushrooms growing between my toes.”  I thought that said it all.

After years of living through Michigan and Chicago winters, I was more cold than I’d ever been in my life in the dampness that permeated everywhere and later I found out I’m very allergic to mold, so it was a miserable time.  I did meet lovely people and have maintained some cherished friendships over the years.  And had some lovely visits back.  In August. 🙂

List at least five favorite treats. (They do not have to be sugary).

I don’t do a lot of snacking, but lately I’m on a big kick of heating up a couple of Trader Joe’s Black Bean Taquitos when I want a reasonably healthy snack.

I’m also fond of popcorn without butter.

My one desserty thing each day is often several pieces of various sorts of Trader Joe’s dark chocolate candies.

Two other dessert things I’ve fallen in love with though I don’t eat them often are Whoopie Pies, a gluten and dairy free chocolate sandwichy thing with various choices of filling flavor (210 calories) and Garden Lites chocolate muffins which are little chocolately delights whose top two ingredients are carrots and zucchini and they’re gluten free as well (110 calories).  Both are absolutely delicious and after many years during which my wheat and dairy sensitivities meant I couldn’t have dessert unless I made it (being unwilling to eat the nasty gluten free stuff that used to pass for dessert), I’m so pleased to have two such delectable sweets I can buy.

Where’s your favorite place to take out-of-town guests?

When I lived in the San Francisco Bay area, we could strike out in pretty much any direction, but several I especially liked:

Mountain Home Inn View

Mountain Home Inn View

  1. drive through Mill Valley and up the hill to have lunch on the deck at Mountain Home Inn, looking at the amazing views and then a little walk in the woods across the street
  2. drive through the Presidio and go to the Legion of Honor museum or head up to Golden Gate Park and the De Young, in the days before it moved to the giant modern building it’s in now.
  3. grab the ferry at Larkspur and head across the bay to wander around that end of SF.

In Chicago there were also multiple great things but my two favorites were to go get the tour boat on the Chicago River shortly before sunset (it moves up the river first and then about the time the sky has become a magnificent backdrop, moves out onto the lake and the skyline view) and to drive up to the Bahai Temple in Wilmette and walk around the grounds and take a tour.

Here in Kentucky I take people out the winding roads in the stunning countryside.  My late aunt belonged to the Hunt Club and I spent summers swimming there.  It’s on a country road so narrow if two cars pass they both have to put the tires on the outside off the road.  There are also gorgeous horse farms around it, areas where you’re just in the midst of trees, one lane bridges, etc.

You are trapped in an elevator, who would you want to be trapped with?

Since I don’t like closed spaces and am afraid of heights, I think it had better be a paramedic or a psychotherapist or a Buddhist monk 🙂  I can ride an elevator as long as it goes pretty quickly from point A to Point B.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m really grateful for a bunch of days without rain — this has been a wet year (I keep saying I feel like I’m living in Portland) so it was nice to do without for a bit.  I’m reading books on a topic I plan to write a book about and enjoying reading other people’s takes on peace, coping with enemies, non violence etc. so I’m looking forward to putting in more time on that this week.

3 thoughts on “Share Your World 7/10/17

  1. I was fascinated on your take on the Pacific Northwest. I am so drawn to that past of the country but have never been. But I am not a big rain fan. Can you reveal anything about the book you are writing? Inquiring minds want to know.

    peace always and all ways, Linda

    Like

    • Well, from what I’ve heard, the constant rain stopped after I left and I don’t know that it’s ever been as rainy as that since. But even what I gather is normal is too much for me. If you just want to visit, just make sure you go late July or in August, when you’ve got the best chance of having sunshine for most days of your visit. Seattle since I lived there has developed a smog problem too.. Haven’t been back to Portland in a LONG time so don’t know if the population boom has caused it there too.
      I wrote a series of posts in December, I think, about peaceful activism and have decided I want to write a guide. I’ve been letting it gel and just recently started looking at samplings of the literature already out there.

      Liked by 1 person

Discuss please

