My tropical smoothie

Long ago I posted my two main smoothie recipes here, but I’ve slowly played with it and come up with another recipe which I’ve been stuck on for quite a while.

Leigh’s Tropical Smoothie

  • 1-3/4 cups orange juice
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup fresh apple cider
  • 1-2 fistfuls shredded carrots
  • 1 fresh (peeled and quartered) or 1 fistful frozen sliced beet
  • 1 fistful pineapple
  • 1 fistful cranberries
  • 1 fistful mango
  • 7-10 strawberries (depending on size and taste) or fistful blueberries
  • 2 bananas
  • if you don’t have issues with raw greens and thyroid (I do) add a fistful of spinach, kale or other leafy greens
  • optional:  add milk of your choice (I use unsweetened almond) to thin it as needed or to taste

Put it all in blender and liquefy.  I put everything but the milk first and liquefy, then add milk (or if needed pour a bit out and add milk to thin the rest) and blend.  This makes about 48 oz and I use half one day and the other half the next.

If you’re missing one or two items you can obviously make do with just the rest.  I do variations, like replacing strawberries with blackberries, adding flax seeds, using yogurt instead of bananas if I’m out, or switching the cider/orange juice amounts, etc.

I quit putting raw greens in after I realized they tend to suppress thyroid, which is already a problem for me.  They’re okay cooked, so I use them copiously in soups and frittatas, etc. instead.  The main idea, as mentioned in the previous post, is to use the eat a rainbow theory for the smoothie.

It sounds like a hodgepodge, but it really tastes yummy.  Even my mother– whose main rule of eating is, I’m pretty sure, “nothing nutritious shall pass my lips”–loves them.

5 thoughts on “My tropical smoothie

  1. Pingback: Share Your World #32 | Scribblings from the Bluegrass

  2. Pingback: Raw food, greens and things | Scribblings from the Bluegrass

  3. Pingback: Share Your World #40 | Scribblings from the Bluegrass

  4. This looks great. I haven’t tried adding beets to smoothies. Sounds like a great idea. With everything going on with my mother, I am thinking I need to get back to drinking a fruit/veggie drink every day.

    Like

    • I love the beets addition. It was part of the reason for changing my recipe to add more orange juice as it seems to neutralize the tendency for beet taste to take over. The beets give it such a nice color while adding so much nutrition!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.